We’re so excited you’re coming to the BHP Virtual Professional Learning Consortium: Gearing Up for BHP! Here’s everything you need to know for the meeting.


Who: BHP classroom teachers grades 6-12, session lead by a BHP Teacher Leader

When: July 9 OR 16 at 4:00 p.m. PST/ 5:00 p.m. MST/ 6:00 p.m. CST/ 7:00 p.m. EST, for one hour

Where: A free online collaborative platform you can access on your phone or computer

What: An hour-long video session to meet BHP colleagues from across the country. Build community and cover topics aligned with the BHP content you’ll be teaching…when you’ll be teaching it.


LOGISTICS

  • Details and instructions coming soon about joining the free online collaborative platform

Your pre-meeting homework (oh, yes we did):

  • Dive into the content covered in the Virtual PLCs before they happen. Downloadable activities, curriculum documents, and more can be found below.
  • Take a look at Teaching Big History, BHP’s free, online professional development course for teachers. Whether you’re new or veteran, you’ll get a lot more out of the PLC if you first (re)familiarize yourself with the structure, skills, and routines of the BHP course.
  • Sign up for the online BHP Teacher Community on Yammer. Why? So you can continue to connect with and get moral support from your fellow BHP Teachers everywhere. Go on, now. Don’t be shy.

Questions? Contact BHP Outreach Coordinator Mike Weisensel at michaelw@bighistoryproject.com.


Virtual PLC RESOURCES AND DOWNLOADS

July 9 OR 16: Gearing Up for BHP

How do you know where you’re going if you don’t have a plan? Whether you’re teaching BHP for the first time or you’re a seasoned veteran, you’ll get the direction you need to set yourself (and your students) up for success. In this session, we’ll look at sample teacher course plans for SY 2019/20, examine your course roadmap in the Practice Progressions Placemat, and review lessons learned from a veteran BHP teacher (can you say, free advice?). Join your fellow BHP educators to dig into the website and uncover all the resources available to you to kick off your year right.

Resources covered in this session: