We’re so excited you’re coming to the BHP Virtual Professional Learning Community: Reading in BHP! Here’s everything you need to know.

P.S. – Still need to register for the event? Take care of that here!


Who: BHP classroom teachers grades 6-12, session lead by a BHP Teacher Leader

When: Tuesday, August 20; 4:00 p.m. PDT/ 5:00 p.m. MDT/ 6:00 p.m. CDT/ 7:00 p.m. EDT, for one hour

Where: Join Zoom Meeting by clicking on the link below.

https://zoom.us/j/812343135

One tap mobile
+16465588656,,812343135# US (New York)
+16699006833,,812343135# US (San Jose)

Dial by your location
+1 646 558 8656 US (New York)
+1 669 900 6833 US (San Jose)

Meeting ID: 812 343 135

Find your local number: https://zoom.us/u/aetUBis1XG

What: An hour-long video session to meet BHP colleagues from across the country. Build community and cover topics aligned with the BHP content you’ll be teaching…when you’ll be teaching it.

August 20: Reading in BHP

We know that so much of teaching history involves helping students analyze and decode a variety of different texts. What we struggle with as history teachers is instructing students on how to do just that. In the this session, we’ll:

  • dedicate our time to all things reading and reading instruction
  • find out about the reading scaffolds created specifically for the BHP course
  • learn how other teachers differentiate reading for students in their classrooms

You’ll leave this session (almost) feeling like an English teacher!


PRE-PLC PREP:

Questions? Contact BHP Outreach Coordinator Mike Weisensel at michaelw@bighistoryproject.com.